While in Uganda, I went to the market with a list of names as well as corresponding basket sizes, amounts and colors to purchase. I hand selected each one, going from shop to shop to scour out the best ones. The last shop I visited had a red and white one that was different than all the rest, and I couldn’t help but buy it. I knew that I already had my own baskets and had no need or space for anymore. I had already bought for everyone I could think of who would even want it, but for some reason I just felt I should buy it. Even as I was purchasing it, I thought, “Why am I buying this?” yet, I just felt I should. I didn’t think anything of it after that except to remind myself that it was an unnecessary purchase… until I got to Kenya.

A Guatamalan-American missionary woman named Kenia (coincidentally pronounced the same as Kenya) welcomed me into her temporary home with a warm hug and promptly fed me a delicious meal. Later as we shared stories in the sitting room, she excitedly complimented my large stack of baskets. Her husband told me that she admires and collects baskets, finding a special use for each one of them. He joked that he doesn’t mind it because baskets are a much cheaper fetish than shoes. All of a sudden I felt with complete certainty that God wanted me to buy that basket for Kenia, and I didn’t even know her. She cried when I gave it to her and explained the situation. As it was, the couple was taking a short retreat in Kenya from the constant work and high stress life they had been living in Sudan. God knew they needed uplifting, and He knew Kenia needed a beautiful basket.

“… for your Father knows exactly what you need even before you ask him!” (Matthew 6:8)

“Delight yourself in the LORD and he will give you the desires of your heart.” (Psalm 37:4)

